Thursday, January 10, 2008

We Don't Need to Show You no Stinking Badges

I read today that the U.S. Customs Border Patrol is urgently trying to hire more agents in the Southwest, so it seems like a good time to share my views about immigration... and more specifically, ILLEGAL immigration. I don't understand at all why anyone would be in favor of amnesty or fast track citizenship for illegal immigrants. Personally, I don't want someone here who has broken the law the very first second they enter my country. I realize that the welcoming committee is REAL busy, and it takes a long time to become a citizen, but anything worth having takes effort and patience. We already have the system in place to become a citizen and while it may or may not be any good... and I would be all for making it a speedier accomplishment by boosting that departments workforce and streamlining the process, I do believe that there are certain basic requirements necessary. Establishing identity would be a good start to getting a green card. After that, require that they (with the governments help) become gainfully employed (or that a household member supports them) and set up a residence. I feel that it is also important that they learn English within a period of time and take a proficiency test. They have to show that they would be good citizens by being lawful during the probationary period, then they should be granted the privilege of becoming a citizen... and the perks that go with it... but NOT until then.
I believe in strong borders, a strict but reasonable, fair and expedient means of becoming a citizen, and removal of ILLEGAL immigrants. If we can do this, then there will be no reason to do it illegally.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

"Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!" ~ Statue of Liberty

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statue_of_liberty

Now, that said, I do in fact believe that an immigrant to a country should learn the language. Lots of immigrants did it coming to this country. The USA is supposed to be the land of the free, where the American Dream is striven for… do we have no tolerance any longer?

I'm not saying abandon security. By-all-means background check, etc. If someone is a known criminal they can be barred entry/citizenship. However barring someone for coming from an undesirable country is xenophobic.

Once here, immigrants should understand that there is no free-ride. You will be expected to work for your dream; you're not going to get a handout here. Also, the laws apply just as much to you as anyone else here.

The idea of boarders is a bit antiquated anyhow IMO. The EU seems to be doing just fine and they have free movement and work permits from country to country.

This country was built on the ideals of freedom. We should think of returning to those ideals. We are not better than the rest of the world, we are part of it.